Busy

This one again is a piece that was written long back, so long back, that I can’t even recall when. But the one striking thing that I noticed is the kind of similarity and consistency in my thinking and my approach and take on things that are happening, in background, for some people, but how it affects my thought process and my emotional being. To validate the semblance to the piece that will follow, I will provide the link of the blog, that I wrote a few weeks back (having completely forgotten that the below piece existed, that I believe stems from a similar premise.

https://dirediarist.wordpress.com/2017/07/25/onlookers/

I may just embarrass myself with the writing, it might seem naive and not mature, but I can for sure say that the motive and the emotions are genuine.

                 Busy

I stepped  down the pavement, stood on the road,

Vehicles running here and there, and people passing by,

I wonder if time stood still, and people would still pass by,

They wouldn’t stop, strong determination they had..

determination to reach their destination, nothing could stop them..

 

I saw the crowd from the exterior,

they looked engaged, they looked engrossed..

in a thought, thought of hurrying

I couldn’t see the end of the crowd, nor the end of their hurry,

probably their destination was far off, and hence they hurried..

 

The crowd was one, people were many..

destinations different, but nothing unique..

Fearing to lag behind, I scurried and joined them,

to be a part of them, to be the same..

Under-confident and scared, I probably qualified,

I stepped in to be the un-welcomed guest and hurried.. just as them..

 

In chaos ongoing, a man fell to his knees,

muddy and hurt, the onlookers moving ahead he sees,

unable to stand, he begged for help

they tsk tsk-ed and frowned on the hindrance,

people passed by with the strong determination they had..

 

The man now furious and helpless, mustered all his courage,

with a difficulty much, he finally could stand..

As he made his posture, although weak,

looking to get steady and on his feet

he gets a jerk by a passing by, is forced to his initial

misery back on him, lost he feels..

 

The crowd was huge and lives are many,

to them, one lost life didn’t matter,

to them, hurt emotions didn’t matter,

to them didn’t matter, the absence of a part of them, merely, probably,

to them only mattered their destination,

and their determination to reach their destination,

nothing at all could stop them..

 

I feel very strongly to the lost connect that we experience now, will the technology that has seeped into every life. We value that, our business, social stature, profession and success above all. This has led to the disconnect from the society and community. Quoting J.K. Rowling from her Harvard graduation ceremony address, ” So given a Time Turner, I would tell my 21-year-old self that personal happiness lies in knowing that life is not a check-list of acquisition or achievement. Your qualifications, your CV, are not your life, though you will meet many people of my age and older who confuse the two. Life is difficult, and complicated, and beyond anyone’s total control, and the humility to know that will enable you to survive its vicissitudes.” The heart that fails to empathize, is a heart that belongs to a person who has truly failed to impact lives. She also said, “They can refuse to hear screams or to peer inside cages; they can close their minds and hearts to any suffering that does not touch them personally; they can refuse to know……. What is more, those who choose not to empathize enable real monsters. For without ever committing an act of outright evil ourselves, we collude with it, through our own apathy.”

community-909149_960_720

(http://www.odara.org.uk/ramadan-community/)

I vehemently agree and cannot emphasize enough on how limited we have made our boundaries of concern, Dr. Mann in the movie Interstellar says, “Evolution has yet to transcend that simple barrier. We can care deeply – selflessly – about those we know, but that empathy rarely extends beyond our line of sight.

Community-Change

(http://mustardtreeministries.org/2016/12/community/)

I hope that people one day rise above this, find pleasure and belonging-ness in being truly there for people and helping one and another in the community as little as the world by contributing not only tangibles like money and property, but with far more valuable intangible things, such as time, ideas and empathy.

Have a great day everyone. 🙂

27 Comments

    1. Thanks a lot Priyasha! There’s so much I wish to convey and then think if there are people who want to listen, your feedback inspires me and makes me feel confident. Thanks! Have a great day! 🙂

      Like

  1. What beautiful thoughts you have. I believe the same dear. I dont believe in running with the crowd. I want to sit back and look at the people who love me. See them smiling and smile back at them. I dont understand why we are loosing the beauty of living a life.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, I am so glad you think like that, this actually is an old one, may be around 5-6 years old, found it in my diary. I kind of had given up poetry owing to my schedule, but thanks to dear friends who found worth in my words and composition, I was motivated to re-start it.. Thanks a lot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

